Media Minimalist


Mass media:

a medium of communication (as newspapers, radio, or television) that is designed to reach the mass of the people —usually used in plura

In February, I reflected on what media is to me, and what I want to use it for.  I think most people use media as entertainment and social currency.

It’s not that I dislike or even hate media.

I just find that time and life energy are a finite source.  I’m not trying to cut myself off from the world.  I don’t look down on others for a media fascination.  If that’s what you like, cool.

But, I find media to be a life energy drain, for me.

There are downsides to being a minimalist.  I’ll get information (more) second-hand, subject to another layer of bias and filtering.  I’m ok with that, though.

I don’t really know what I mean by declaring that I’m a media minimalist.  Ideally, I want to use the least amount of media to create the maximum positive impact on my life.

I think this is why I hardly watch television in my adult life.  I also think this is why I stopped keeping up with the news about five years ago.  And, it’s the reason for my craving of non-conventional blogs.

For me, being a media minimalist is deciding to budget my influence, which is very similar to financial and caloric budgeting.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rooster said,

    The surplus of media has turned me off as well. Unfortunately, I don’t think enough Americans are critical enough to read between the lines of opinion, deliberately vague statistics, and the egos of the sources.

    Media is exhausting and much of it negates and never really matters (round table discussions are obsolete a day later; point/counter-point debate is opinion-based; lobbyist mentality changes feelings/outlooks/facts).

    I haven’t had TV for over a year. I never feel like I am missing out. Actually, I felt the opposite which is wholesomeness (despite the ‘opposite of feeling something’ = ‘not feeling something’). 95% of my media is now from the internet. The advantage: voice your opinions through clicks. TV and radio don’t have these advantages (unless you are part of the sampled audience).

    Our country spends more time with media than sharing with neighbors and loved ones. Many media professions need to die out. I’m trying to encourage that by not buying in to it, literally.

  2. 2

    Pete said,

    good points. i like the idea about the clicking.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

