Mandatory High School Curriculum


Since my high school reunion invitation didn’t ask me, I post my suggestions on how I think we can change high school curriculum, here.

Dilbert

I think English and Math are important skills.  Poor English can only adds to the case that you are indeed a moron.  Algebra is also a nice skill to have, since I don’t think anyone wants to get ripped off via a bank statement or a restaurant bill.

However, one skill I wish I had was water cooler talk, office politics, brown nosing, and the ability to more naturally quantify my work.  I think this would fit well into second semester junior social studies, and in addition to proficiency can bolster job performance.  Yes, this is quickly realized in the first months in the real world. However, I don’t think corporate training can start too early; that is actually part of the first course of corporate training.

To teach the course, there needs to be a specialization added in The Schools of Education: Dogbert.

Personal Finances

The university system is the first step of the rat race for many.  By dumb luck, the interests of math and science, and a little elbow grease, I made it into a couple programs to exit college debt-free with a professional job offer in hand.  But, to note it was mainly dumb luck.

After going separate ways, I’ve reunited with a few high school classmates in the past few years.  By this point in our quest through life, those peers and I realize what debt amounts to.  Not just a payment schedule, but the psychological burden of servitude to something we’re not always passionate about.

It is weird to see some of the smartest kids from the class that sunk the deepest in debt.  Although, the smart kids were the ones learning what the teachers tested on . . .

While in college, I saw a drastic change of a 100% tuition spike; however, the college experience (of personal and intellectual growth) stayed the same before and after the spike.  What changed was a nicer campus appearance, financial focus on research, and an initiative to recruit more out-of-state students.  The transition from an attempt at a learning utopia to a business.

I value my learnings in future value calculations, annuity payouts, and the magic of compounding interest.  A higher education is cool, but so is [financial] freedom.  I think an advanced society would provide their young to better understand, as well as the capability to calculate the payback period of a cool liberal arts education.  I’m not trying to knock liberal artists.  If anything, I’m jealous of their four years developing crazy ideas.

I just think it would be more fair to have our young apprentice in society, either saving up some money and/or earning “credits” for classes while deeper contemplating their career. I always value buying something after earning it, as opposed to abstractness of debt.

History as Research

I remember having an “aha!” moment reading Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States: 1492 to Present.  It was the first time that I learned history, like all other subjects, is open to human error.  Perhaps, Wikipedia is already opening this door.

How to Pack Heat Under a Trench Coat with Your Friends

Just joking.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    dre said,

    i learned almost too much about brown nosing and politics in my experiences with extra curricular activities in high school (i.e. how, when and why certain people got more playing time in basketball games). although not entirely the same as an office setting, i think having those experiences has helped and will help me in my job(s).

    somewhat unrealistic, but maybe there could be a requirement to join a team that encompasses the sort of hierarchy you’d likely find in a corporate setting. food for thought: do the typical group/team projects we have throughout all years of schooling teach us anything about the corporate world (whether we realize it or not)?

    just a thought.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

