Goals for Oten


Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.

– Theodore Roosevelt

As you can see, that’s a quote from my homeboy sportsman, Teddy.

In 2009, I created three goals for the year.  I’ll recap those as well as my Top 3 experiences of the year at a more appropriate time, like once the year is over.

Now, I look forward to setting direction to ‘010 (Oten).

Electricity.

My first goal is to understand electricity more, with a slant towards renewable energy.  It’s weird to call myself an engineer, considering my lack of knowledge in this field of electricity.  I don’t quite know how, but these are my current interests:

  • installing a generator bicycle hub
  • creating a solar powered device to tell people the sun is out
  • programming a micro-controller with some LEDs or something

My goal is to understand the fundamentals, through a couple concrete projects.  I think it is interesting to read the limitations in solar and wind power.  I think it would be rewarding to get some first hand experience understanding electrical loads and how to physically put the pieces together.

Boston.

I have a one year goal: from the 2009 Chicago Marathon, to run the Oten Chicago Marathon (on 10/10/’010) in less than 3:10, then qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

I have two major races planned to get me there: Surf City Half Marathon (February) and the OC Half Marathon (May) to help the training.  Other than that, I want to keep the amount of racing low.  From what I’m reading, I’m focusing on two workouts during the week: the speed work and the long run with recovery runs sprinkled in there.

The hardest part I see so far is: (1) recovering from a run with less than desired expectations and (2) not talking to all my non-runner friends about how awesome my splits were in the intervals I did 5 days previous.

The first requires grin and bear.  Excuses or not, you need to be able to “lace ’em up again” to fix it.  The second is not so bad, and probably a good exercise in listening (not interjecting) in conversations.

I think it’s a good goal: challenging but possible to bring a 3:35 down to a 3:10.  I think it will be a good experience. . . what’s the point of doing something if you’re not extreme about it??!

Budgeting

I hate planning.  I try to automate things, like saving, in my life  to avoid spending time doing anything close to planning.  However, I think when you budget the surpluses in your life — for me, projects and entertainment — it becomes something more revered.

4 Big Books

One of my interests is to become more pretentious cultured.  Since I started the corporate gig, I usually read a book if it keeps my interest.  Time for reading was easier to make when I didn’t have pressures to always look busy during the day.  Anyway, I want to coerce myself to read some classics.  My first book I picked out is Dr. Zhivago.  I don’t know if this a classic or not, but I think it seems pretentious enough to fit my goal.

That’s about it.

I think the key to goals is creating something concrete, yet flexible.  For, my real goal is not the end, but the journey.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] had 4 goals for Oten (the year 2010), recorded here.  My goals were broken into four compartments: learning about electricity, qualifying for the […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

