streaming consciousness


I have a few thoughts on my mind lately: one is ditching the car and the other is couch time.

First: couch time.  To make a long story short, I would often return late at night from the computer lab and go directly to bed.  Like, do not pass Go; do not go to the bathroom; do not remove clothes; do not take shoes off; and then, wake early and go directly back to the computer lab.

So, my roommates required that I sit on a coach for 15 minutes a day, with stipulations if I didn’t.  I found out I like video games.  I often played Super Mario Bros. and Duck Hunt.  Old School.

Anyway, I’ve started doing couch time more.  I sit in the front of our apartment building.  It ends up being around 6pm.  I’ve waved to this biking surfer quite a few times, and I’ve figured out who I can say “Hi neighbor!” to and whom to just wave at.  Additionally, since I’m usually sweaty from biking or running and live near Dog Beach, dogs like to smell my . . well, dogs say hi to me more than humans.  It’s interesting.

The other: ditching the car.  This has been on my thoughts for a while. I’ve challenged myself to a month without the car.  So far, I have one unjustified cheat on this goal, during week 2.  The more I do it, the more I see that I don’t “feel” like I’m missing out on as much as I thought I would.  There would be a decent change.  However, I just feel so much better about not having a car: mainly higher energy and a more child-like goofy outlook.  It’s also a fun way to add a challenge in your life.

I don’t know if I’ll end up selling my car or not.  It would make getting to the trails and wilderness harder, but at the same time I might relish in those experiences more.  Maybe not?

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    jeff said,

    you’re so gay.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

