I GOT WORMS!


“My friend Harry and I are saving up to open our own pet store . . .  ‘I Got Worms!’  We’re gonna specialize in selling worm farms. You know, like ant farms.” Lloyd Christmas

I built the structure, and my newest roommate, Harry, ordered some red wiggler worms (eisendia fetida).  The purpose is to compost food scraps, in an urban setting, termed vermicomposting.  Here we are in Day 1:

This is easy to build:

  • find or fabricate one to three ~2ft by ~2ft bins.
  • drill 1/8″ holes near the top (not shown), for air
  • drill 1/4″ holes in the base so the worms can go to another layer (not shown), for harvesting the compost, called [worm] castings. The castings are solid fertilizer for plants.
  • initially, and possibly periodically, place dry or damp (depending on the food scrap moisture and pest conditions) newspaper as filler for the worms to play in.
  • place a lid or some type of liquid trapping device on the base to collect worm tea, Ma Nature’s form of Miracle-Gro (I’ve heard worm tea can kick Miracle-Gro’s ass).

I found the instructions on this website and from the rhizomecollective.org’s book Toolbox for Sustainable City Living: A Do-It-Ourselves Guide.  I’m pumped to see these worms eat!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] phosphorous, rather than just nitrogen from the fish.  At first, I’m just going to put some worm tea in the system, and then go from […]

  2. 2

    […] to house red wiggler worms.  The worms eat my table scraps and turn it into soil.  Here’s my post on building the […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

