The Trans-Catalina Trail


on the Trans-Catalina Trail, just south of the airport

Just a few weeks ago, the Catalina Island Conservancy opened* the Trans-Catalina Trail (TCT).  I ventured over to Catalina Island to hike across the island, from Two Harbors traveling south to Avalon.  I hiked across Catalina once before on the “Don’t Meet the Girlfriend’s Parents During Thanksgiving” trip.  The TCT’s single-track provides a much nicer experience than the fireroads that cover Catalina, which have sporadic, relatively high-speed traffic between the two towns on Catalina.

*I think I was an Cherokee in my past life so I don’t get privitization of land.

The trail is well formed and well marked, for the most part.  There are a few spots with multiple turn-offs.  I think in a year or two, once the trail gets more worn the little confusion that is on the trail will cease.

single-track running atop a ridge.

I know of four trail races on Catalina: the Buffalo Run (13.1 mi),  the Eco-Marathon (26.2 mi), the Catalina Marathon (26.2 mi), and the Avalon 50 (50 mi).  The courses of the last two go between Avalon and Two Harbors.  The websites, at this time, do not include the TCT but instead use the roads.  For some reason, this troubles me.  I’ll get over it and/or run it self-supported.  Take that, race directors!

I like pictures.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    jeff said,

    dig the photos, repete. got a giggle out of all the bison bison references.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

