The Purpose of Life


unicorn

“The Purpose of Life” is to solve problems.

I will acknowledge that my field of training is expected to solve problems, engineering.  This could lead to a blind spot for the premise of this idea.

I think life is made of multiple small decisions, which lead to cumulative “bigger decisions.”  Each small decision, is either somewhat or entirely based on a past decision.  This could depend on social, genetic, as well as cultural dependencies, or it could be entirely circumstantial, too.  Each “small” decision requires solving a problem, whatever the method may be.  So the destiny of our tomorrows resides in the decisions of today.  This sounds too simple to be true.  Yay, I can make a boat-load off of this pretentious idea!

This idea is confirmed (in my mind) in capitalism. Jobs are created to solve problems.  This could be making products for consumers.  Jobs could include service to customers.  My favorite type of job is marketing. Marketing notifies the consumer of a problem, or better yet marketing creates a problem for the consumer.  One step farther, a job can create (useless) jobs.

Continuing onward,  Scott Adams found  in Webster:  “The white collar sector is all about no activity punctuated occasionally by useless activities.” [I can’t find it on the internet elsewhere, so it is probably some April Fools thing that I am still being fooled by.]

I hate to end this on a negative spin.  I remember watching The Secret, why I don’t know either, but a part of the information included the Law of Attraction: people’s thoughts (both conscious and unconscious) dictate the reality of their lives, whether or not they’re aware of it.

I visualize the above unicorn when I practice my law of attraction.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Rooster said,

    I’ve considered this a lot and written about it too. I came to the ultimate conclusion that the purpose is held in each of us as whatever we want it to be. That, in and of itself, is a decision, I suppose So I guess by default your belief reigns true – fucker.

    Problems only beget more problems. In that respect, I do side with you in that white collar work fabricates “unnecessary” jobs. My job (Finance – A/R), for example, only exists because someone a long time ago decided that giving people credit was a good idea. While it does allow for more sales, it allows for more problems. These problems are the main thing my job is based around. If credit wasn’t extended to anyone, yes, sales would drop. However, an entire department of my company could be eliminated.

    Would sales losses be made up for in salaries/benefits/overhead saved? I think most jobs can be though about as ultimately frivolous. What is my job doing to make the world a better place? As far as the history of the world goes, I have an admin job…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

