Babe Ruthing Karma


This is a guest post from that budding, pretentious Eastern religious scholar in me. .  or in all of us??

 

I like

  • coffee.
  • making coffee in a French Press.  
  • having roommates.  
  • avoiding anger. 
  • time.

What recipe do you get when you combine the aforementioned ingredients?  A new food processor!

 

To expand:

I have had three French Presses, all made from glass, during my time on this earth.  I have kept each French Press on top of the fridge.  Three different roommates have broken my French Presses.  Each time, I acknowledge that the failure is bound to happen with the French Press stored at such a place.  I think during each failure the French Press is left hanging on top of the freezer door.  So, just enough of the door catches the bottom on the French Press, and the press plummets to its death, impact with the floor.

After the third death, we had a raffle at work.  The winning prize was a coveted Black and Decker Power Pro II Food Processor.  I just knew it was my time.  I told everyone I was going to win the food processor.  I was due.  I was calling my shot, just like Babe Ruth.

I realize this is risky to mess with higher powers.  However, sometimes you have to follow your intution.

Here is a picture of me, 24 hours after calling my shot.

Here I am, in all my joy.

A Contemporary Babe Ruth Shot Callha

I BABE RUTH’D KARMA!

 

 

I predict that this event will be in my 2009 Top 3.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] I read the Bike Commuters’ The Well-Tempered Cyclist post shortly before bed one night.  Before falling asleep that night, I reflected on my agreement of the past five years of riding.  Riding with other members of the Purdue Tri Club, we started smiling and waving at angry drivers, who often like to honk at us.  The waving and smiling often confuses drivers, which makes it enjoyable.  Plus, what’s the point in continuing the anger?  It doesn’t solve any problems, and some of us believe in karma! […]

  2. 2

    […] I read the Bike Commuters’ The Well-Tempered Cyclist post shortly before bed one night.  Before falling asleep that night, I reflected on my agreement of the past five years of riding.  Riding with other members of the Purdue Tri Club, we started smiling and waving at angry drivers, who often like to honk at us.  The waving and smiling often confuses drivers, which makes it enjoyable.  Plus, what’s the point in continuing the anger?  It doesn’t solve any problems, and some of us believe in karma! […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

